Movie Night

Movie Night

Let me start by saying: I fucking love movies. From Singing’ in the Rain to The Avengers, Pulp Fiction to Zootopia. Whether a movie is an absolute classic or a complete box office flop, I require very little from  a film for it to capture my glazed attention. I just love them all. Which may lead you to ask why on Earth you’d want to watch any of the trash I recommend. Well, you’ve got to wade through a whole lot of trash before you find a piece of pure gold, so I’ve done all the work for you. Here are my top five film’s for your next movie night.

tumblr_o4h1v0ikvf1tgct5lo2_128010 Things I Hate About You: If you’ve read my recent post on teen movie romances, you’ll know I’m obsessed with rom-coms. This one is the best of the best. Boasting a KILLER soundtrack, a feminist leading lady and that tear-jerker of a poem, it’s been on constant repeat throughout my teen years. It passes the Bechtel test, which is more than I can say for most “chick-flicks” and best of all, it’s an adaptation of Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew, so you can pretend you’re doing your English  homework while you watch.

Léon the Professional: I’ve watched this film 18 times, and I’ve always thought of it as a kind of cult classic, ranking it up there with the likes of The Breakfast Club and Blade Runner. So it never fails to amaze me when people tell me they’ve never even heard of it. It’s got everything you could want from a movie: an Italian hittumblr_nrnusgLRlI1rn7nrdo1_1280.pngman, a twelve-year-old with better hair than you’ll ever have and a much-loved plant. The carefully placed comedy and the  declarations of love, action scenes that just feel so real. The raw beauty of this film will have you begging for more.

Elf: I don’t care what you say. Christmas movies can and should be watched year-round. Arguably my favourite genre, a typical holiday film involves romance, family, lesson’s learned, and if you’re lucky, an ice skating scene. Elf has all that and more. If ever you’re feeling down, just know a quick viewing of this movie will sweep you up, fill you with that warm-and-fuzzy feeling and leave you with a fetching holiday glow.

Is it Fall Yet?: Daria. Need I say more? Everyone’s favourite sardonic cartoon character, and she has her own movie! Two, actually, but this one is, in my opinion, ever so slightly superior. When Daria was on TV, I wasn’t technically allowed to watch it. I would steal glances, often catching the last five minutes of an episode while mum was kept busy by my sisters. Now, I 233958-daria-is-it-fall-yet-episode-screencap-4x14consider myself a Daria veteran, and can quote almost ever line in the five season, two film franchise. Is it Fall Yet? slots in between seasons four and five, and documents the beginning of Daria’s first relationship, her job at a summer camp and an identity crisis or two. I don’t need to convince you. It’s Daria. You know it’s gonna be good.

The Grand Budapest Hotel: This quirky, colourful, kinda crazy film was my introduction to Wes Anderson, AKA, greatest director of all time. There’s no denying that everything Anderson does is a visionary. There is such an obsessive perfection in each film, the symmetry of it, the carefully selected palette. I’ve learnt a number of Anderson’s films inside out now but The Grand Budapest Hotel still holds an extra special place in my heart. Maybe it’s the promiscuous concierge Gustave H. or maybe it’s the pretty little pastel pastries from Mendl’s. The only thing that’s for sure is that Anderson has captured audiences the world over with this action packed, comically charged film. A must watch!

Leave a Reply

